no photo

Ionin Andrey Alekseevich

Professor, Doctor of Science (Physics and Mathematics)

Directorate of QRPhD Moscow, Leninskiy Prospekt, 53c1, r. 432, 224
Руководитель Отделения, доктор наук

Email: ioninaa@lebedev.ru

Email: andrey.ionin@gmail.com

Email: aion@sci.lebedev.ru

Phone: +7(499) 783-36-90

Phone: +7(499) 132-62-30



Researcher ID


Prof. Andrey Ionin has been working at the Lebedev Physical Institute since 1972 being a chief scientist, head of the Gas Lasers Lab, head of the Laser and Nonlinear Optics Technology Center and head of the N.G.Basov Quantum Radiophysics Division now. He received a Candidate of Sciences degree (PhD) in 1978 and a Doctor of Sciences in Math and Physics degree (Prof) in 1992. The field of his scientific interest is high-power lasers and their applications, low-temperature plasma, nonlinear optics and laser-matter interaction. He has more than 500 publications including four monographs, and 15 patents. He has supervised 14 PhD (Candidate of Sciences) and two Doctor of Sciences thesis in math and physics. His research projects have been supported by grants of the Russian Foundation of Basic Research, Russian Science Foundation, International Scientific and Technological Center (ISTC), and European Office of Aerospace Research and Development (EOARD). He has a good experience in international collaboration working abroad in German and US laser centers, taking part in European Projects EUREKA 113 (CO Eurolaser), EUREKA 1390 (Ultralas), and taking part in joint research with DuPont (USA), University of New Mexico (USA), German Aerospace Establishment, Air Force Research lab (USA), Colorado School of Mines (USA), and other research centers. In 2010 he was awarded the visiting professor for senior international scientists of the Chinese Academy of Sciences. For the last ten years Prof. Andrey Ionin has been involved in R&D of a hybrid broadband IR laser system emitting within the spectral range of 2 – 20 micron; in R&D of compact overtone CO lasers excited by a slab RF discharge; in R&D of efficient electric discharge sources of singlet delta oxygen for oxygen-iodine laser; in R&D of TW-class Ti:Sapphire / KrF laser system emitting a train of subpicosecond pulses and its application for triggering and guiding long electric discharge; in R&D of laser filaments and their generation of THz radiation; in R&D of new surface micro- and nanostructures fabricated by high power femtosecond laser pulses and possessing hydrophobic properties, allowing one to get anti-reflecting IR optics, enhance photoemission, suppress the development of bacterial biofilms, etc. Together with his colleagues he was awarded the prize of the Lebedev Institute in 2014 for studying plasma channels formation under ultrashort UV laser pulses and its application for triggering and guiding electric discharge, and N.G.Basov prizes of the Lebedev Institute in 2006 for the research and development of first-overtone CO lasers, and in 2011 for studying physical principles of formation and applications of mini-filaments of ultrashort laser pulses in gaseous and solid media. He is a Fellow member of SPIE-The International Society for Optics and Photonics, Fellow member of the Optica (formerly Optical Society of America (OSA)), member of International Advisory Committee of International Conference on High-Power Laser Systems, and their Applications (Europe) (requires a vote to be a member), a member of organizing and program committees of several international conferences such as High Power Laser Ablation Symposium HPLA (USA), and some others. He is a member of Scientific Council of the Lebedev Physical Institute, a chairman of Scientific Council of the N.G.Basov Quantum Radiophysics Division, a deputy chair of PhD and Doctor of Sciences Thesis Council of the Lebedev Institute, a member of PhD and Doctor of Sciences Thesis Council of Moscow State Engineering Physics University and the Institute of Laser and Information Technologies of Russian Academy of Sciences. He is a referee of Applied Physics Letters, Journal of Physics D: Applied Physics, Optics Communications and some other journals.